The castle ruin Madenburg is amongst the largest castle grounds in the Palatinate. Built in the 11th century as an imperial castle, the Madenburg changed owners several times, burned down during the Peasant’s War in 1525 and was re-erected afterwards until in 1689 it was destroyed for once and all by French troops.
The association Madenburgverein started restoring the castle in 1870 so that today the Madenburg gets close to its former splendour. Visitors can climb one of the towers to let their gaze wander over vineyards, across the Rhine plain, the Palatinate Forest and the Franco-German hill range Wasgau.
In a permanent exhibition visitors can learn about the development history of the castle.
The Madenburg can be reached by foot from the village Eschbach or halfway up from the Madenburg car park.
Tours can be booked, please call +496345/3531.
Phone(0049) 6345 7110