Built in 1480 and the years that followed due to a shortage of land, the “bridge houses” are an architectural gem and one of the landmarks of Bad Kreuznach. The half-timbered buildings erected on the piers of the Alte Nahebrücke bridge (built around 1300) join the Old Town and the New. Their striking silhouette has been a famous feature of the town for centuries. Alte Nahebrücke bridge took two major roads across the Nahe and also served as part of the circular city wall. A particularly impressive view of the bridge houses can be obtained from Geißenbrücke bridge at the Mühlenteich arm of the river, just a stone’s throw from St. Paul’s Church: from this angle, their distinctive style is clearly visible. Wooden struts support the overhanging sections of the houses, leaving them almost impervious to floodwaters. A cannonball is attached to the façade of one of the houses – a reminder of the siege by the Swedish and Spanish during the Thirty Years’ War (1620 and 1632).
The bridge houses stand on the Alte Nahebrücke, a stone bridge constructed in 1300. Built on eight piers, it crossed both arms of the River Nahe which run through the town: the Nahe itself and the Mühlenkanal canal. Only the bridge over the Mühlenkanal retains its historic pier bridge form.
Touristinformation Bad Kreuznach